The remains of Ashtead Roman Villa are located on Ashtead Common in Leatherhead, Surrey, and forms part of a complex which included a bath house, tile works and several clay pits. Its main period of occupation was in AD 117-38, however some buildings were first erected on the site circa AD 67-79. In around AD 150 the buildings were dismantled and in AD 180 the villa was partly rebuilt. The site was abandoned by about AD 200.
Its plan was that of a corridor villa and was considered an unusual example of its type as it had two rows of six rooms behind the corridor rather than the more common single row. Archaeological excavations in 2007, however, revealed that its highly likely the villa did originally consist of a single line of rooms.
The site was first excavated by A.W.G. Lowther who discovered the villa site in 1924. Further excavations were carried out in the 1960s by J.N. Hampton who located the clay pits and some of the kilns. In 2006 a five-year partnership project commenced to discover more information about the villa site. The project is being undertaken by the City of London, Surrey Archaeological Society and English Heritage.